Only connect.

A cache of all that is relevant to middle school counseling, adolescent development and parenting.

Digital Devices aren’t the Enemy – Concentration is Key

Leave a comment

Digital Devices aren’t the Enemy – Kids need to learn to Concentrate

A great article reminding us of the need to teach kids how to concentrate.  While such skills came naturally to previous generations who were not distracted by digital devices, today’s digital natives need to learn how to use devices wisely while also honing their attention skills.

The author encourages time each day when kids have no access to computers or devices at all.  Time in their schedule to simply chill with a book, or over a board game with family and friends.  He encourages the integration of mindfulness and meditation practices in school environments to not only lessen stress among students but to also strengthen their attention skills.

Author: nremondi

Like many of my students, I am a Third Culture Kid - well, a Third Culture Big Kid. In my adult life, I have lived and worked as an middle school educator in Japan, Hong Kong, Jordan, England and the United Arab Emirates. In 2009, I returned to Hong Kong to take my first post as a middle school counselor where I have truly found my niche. My days are filled with opportunities to connect with students, colleagues and parents. I absolutely love my job. When not connecting with the school community, I enjoy all this great city has to offer - from its hiking trails and beaches to the crowded markets of Kowloon and the cosmopolitan chic of Central. My passions include travel, photography, service work, food, cinema, literature and the arts.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers